Review: Passion Blend black tea from SterlingTeas.

SterlingTea Passion Blend black tea. Photo: http://www.sterlingtea.com

I received a free sample of SterlingTea Passion blend from a friend, and enjoyed drinking it iced, last summer. Having tried it as a hot tea since then, I can also recommend it brewed traditionally.  The ingredients are: green tea, black tea, pineapple bits, papaya bits, flavoring, marigold blossoms, safflowers, cornflower blossoms.  The black and green tea is visible in the un-brewed leaf, as are the fruity bits and flower petals.  The tea is a light amber color when brewed, and does well brewed hot or as a cold-brew in the refrigerator, although the flavor is lighter with the cold brew method.

This tea has a lovely floral and tropical fruity aroma and flavor.  The green tea is not a prominent flavor, but adds to the light floral aroma; the strongest flavors include the pineapple and papaya.  There is also a nice “black tea” strength behind the tropical fruit and flowers, which taste and smell almost rose-like.  I drink this tea, as I do most teas, without milk or sugar, but it can handle a little bit of sweetening.  Passion blend is also refreshing as an iced tea sweetened with Splenda.  I do not recommend adding milk to this blend, as the pineapple and papaya fruit bits would cause the dairy to curdle.  A slice of lemon might be a tasty addition, however.  This tea is a refreshingly tropical beverage to enjoy in the middle of summer, or winter!

Copyright 2011, Elizabeth Urbach.

Like what you read? Leave a comment below, click on “Subscribe” above, visit the San Jose Tea Examiner page on Facebook, read my blog, or follow me on Twitter @SanJoseTea!

For more information:
Sterling Tea company
Review of Republic of Tea’s Orange Blossom White Tea
Review of SerendipiTeas Buccaneer Blend

4 Comments

Filed under Product Reviews, Tea Tasting, Vendors and Shops

4 responses to “Review: Passion Blend black tea from SterlingTeas.

  1. I shy away from blends that include a black tea and a green tea as the water temperature to infuse the green is less than that for the black and the infusion times are different (traditional). What water temperature and infusion time did you use to successful brew the Passion Blend? I had not thought of cold infusion or the ‘sun tea’ method. Thanks!

  2. Hi Stephanie, I also hesitated before brewing this tea, because of the water temperature issue, exactly as you said. If I remember correctly, I brought the water to the boil, then took it off the heat for about 10 seconds before infusing the tea, basically what I would do for a green tea (although I might let the water cool a little longer for just green tea). It worked well, but did start to get bitter at 4 minutes of infusing. So, I’d say 3 minutes in water slightly less than boiling should be about right!

  3. Sterling Tea has a ton of great teas. I particularly like their “steep and eat” concept for fruit teas. You steep them (like an apple tea) then toss the apples into your oatmeal. So two for one! Cool deal.

    Brenda at Sterling also does custom blends and is very knowledgeable. I highly recommend her company AND her private label program.

    • Hi Dawnya, I haven’t tried the “steep and eat” teas from Sterling Teas, but it’s an interesting idea. I may have to check that out, as well as think about a custom blend for my tea guild. That might be fun to do!

Leave a Reply

