Review: SerendipiTea’s Buccaneer blend

SerendipiTea product photo. Serendipitea FaceBook fan page.

I recently received a sample of this tea blend from SerendipiTea and have really been enjoying it. The Buccaneer blend contains Fair Trade certified organic black tea, chocolate, coconut, vanilla and rooibos. The first aroma that I noticed upon opening the foil pouch was the toasted coconut, with a little hint of vanilla and chocolate and the kind of citrusy fragrance of rooibos. When brewed and served hot, the flavor of the tea blend changes slightly; I thought it tasted mostly of toasted coconut and rooibos, and couldn’t really taste the chocolate and vanilla.

On a second brewing, the chocolate and coconut are very much in the aroma, but the vanilla is still hiding behind them, I suspect. The black tea flavor wasn’t there at all for me, and I had to look at the tea leaves themselves to make sure they were there. Sort of disappointing for me, as I expected the black tea to make the blend taste more substantial.

On another day, brewing a fresh pot of this tea, I detected the black tea as a faint presence behind all the other stronger flavors, but not as a distinct flavor in itself. I tend to want my tea – even flavored tea – to taste at least a little bit like “tea”, but I may be alone in my preference. All in all, still a tasty blend, which can withstand 2 infusions per serving. I’m not sure this blend is one of those that tastes equally good as a hot beverage and a cold one; I drank some both freshly brewed and after it had cooled, and I prefer this blend hot, definitely. The chocolate flavor really needs the heat in order to have a presence, I think. But as a hot drink, with a flavor of the tropics, the Buccaneer blend is a good one.

Copyright 2011, Elizabeth Urbach.

Like what you read? Leave a comment below, click on “Subscribe” above, visit the San Jose Tea Examiner page on Facebook, read my blog, or follow me on Twitter @SanJoseTea!

For more information:
SerendipiTea company phone number and website: 1.888.TEA.LIFE www.serendipitea.com
Buccaneer blend product page
Another review of the Buccaneer blend tea
Review: Orange Blossom 100% White Tea from The Republic of Tea
Review: Coconut Mango Wuyi Oolong from Stash
Review: The Royal Wedding Black Tea from Lisa’s Tea Treasures
Review: Angel Green Tea and Siberan Rose tisane from Vital Tea Leaf

Leave a comment

Filed under Product Reviews, Tea Tasting, Vendors and Shops

Leave a Reply

